1068 It is this mystery of Christ that the Church proclaims and celebrates in her liturgy so that the faithful may live from it and bear witness to it in the world: For it is in the liturgy, especially in the divine sacrifice of the Eucharist, that “the work of our redemption is accomplished,” and it is through the liturgy especially that the faithful are enabled to express in their lives and manifest to others the mystery of Christ and the real nature of the true Church. (CCC)

1069 Through the liturgy, Christ, our redeemer and high priest, continues the work of our redemption in, with, and through his Church. (CCC)

1070 In the New Testament, the word “liturgy” refers not only to the celebration of divine worship, but also to the proclamation of the Gospel and to active charity. In all of these situations, it is a question of the service of God and neighbour. In a liturgical celebration, the Church is servant in the image of her Lord, the one “leitourgos”; she shares in Christ’s priesthood (worship), which is both prophetic (proclamation) and kingly (service of charity):

From this, it follows that every liturgical celebration, because it is an action of Christ the priest and of his Body which is the Church, is a sacred action surpassing all others. No other action of the Church can equal its efficacy by the same title and to the same degree. (CCC)

The Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church

  • Baptism
  • Reconciliation/Confession
  • Eucharist
  • Confirmation
  • Holy Orders
  • Matrimony/Marriage
  • Anointing of the Sick

Catechism of the Catholic Church; Part Two: The Celebration of the Christian Mystery

Section One: The Sacramental Economy

The Paschal Mystery in the Age of the Church

bullet The Father – Source and Goal of the Liturgy; the Paschal mystery in the Church’s sacraments; the sacraments of: Christ, the Church, faith, salvation, and eternal life

The Sacramental Celebration of the Paschal Mystery

bullet Celebrating the Church’s liturgy: who, how, when, where; liturgical diversity and the unity of the mystery

Section Two: The Seven Sacraments of the Church

The Sacraments of Christian Initiation

bullet Baptism, Confirmation, Eucharist

The Sacraments of Healing

bullet Penance and Reconciliation (Confession), Anointing of the Sick

The Sacraments at the Service of Communion

bullet Holy Orders (Priesthood), Matrimony (Marriage)

Other Liturgical Celebrations

bullet Sacramentals, Christian funerals

Find the Parish nearest you or contact a priest to enquire about Baptism, Confession, Marriage or any of the sacraments.
Enter the Catholic Church

Share This Page: