Register HereThis year’s annual Red Mass will take place on Thursday, September 12th, 2019. Mass will be celebrated by Archbishop Miller, CSB at Holy Rosary Cathedral, followed by dinner with special guest, Rev. Dr. Andrew Bennett, at The Four Seasons Hotel, Vancouver

About our speaker

Rev. Dr. Andrew Bennett

This year, we welcome the Rev. Dr. Andrew Bennett, who is presently the Program Director for Cardus Law, and Director of the Cardus Religious Freedom Institute. He is an ordained deacon in the Ukrainian Greek-Catholic Church in the Diocese of Toronto.

Fr. Deacon Andrew served as Canada’s first Ambassador for Religious Freedom and Head of the Office of Religious Freedom from 2013 to 2016 during which time he led in defending and championing religious freedom internationally as a core element of Canada’s foreign policy. At the same time, he served as Canada’s Head of Delegation to the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance, a 31-country body which leads international efforts in Holocaust education, research, and remembrance.

As Director of the Cardus Religious Freedom Institute, Fr. Deacon Andrew works to promote religious freedom and the importance of public faith to our common life. Through Cardus Law, he works to shape Cardus’ research on how citizens engage with public institutions, including exploring the relationship between government and faith institutions. In conjunction with his work at Cardus, Fr. Deacon Andrew is Director of the North America Action Team and Senior Fellow at the Religious Freedom Institute (RFI) in Washington, DC. The RFI is a leading independent think-tank committed to achieving broad acceptance of religious liberty as a fundamental human right, the cornerstone of a successful society, and a source of national and international security.

Fr. Deacon Andrew holds a Ph.D. in Politics (2002) from the University of Edinburgh as well as degrees in history from McGill and Dalhousie universities. When not praying, studying, or advocating, Fr. Deacon Andrew can be found with his fly rod in a stream, listening to bluegrass or Bach, or reading the Church Fathers.

Ticket Prices

  • Register HereSingle – $130
  • Couple – $250
  • Table of 8 – $1,000
  • Table Sponsorship (includes 8 tickets) – $1,200
    Includes recognition in our print materials and from the podium

Last year’s Red Mass highlights:

  • To view photos from the Red Mass, click here.
  • For Archbishop Miller’s Homily, click here.

What is a Red Mass?

The Red Mass is a Mass celebrated in honour of the legal profession as a vocation in the service of justice and the common good. It is one of the traditions through which the Church has blessed and strengthened the legal profession. The grace given to the members of the legal profession by God and the teachings of the Catholic Church help guide us towards the goals of fairness and justice.

The Red Mass – Past and Present

The first recorded Red Mass was celebrated in Paris in 1245. This Red Mass, so-called for the red vestments traditionally worn by celebrants as a symbol of the tongues of fire that descended on the Apostles during Pentecost, spread throughout Europe and continued around the world. Today Red Masses are held in cities annually, including cities across Canada such as Edmonton, Toronto, Ottawa and Quebec. Red Masses are attended by leading figures across the legal, political and professional fields, and remain an important occasion for Catholic lawyers to connect with their faith community. One of the largest is held in Washington, D.C., at the beginning of the U.S. Supreme Court’s annual term. This Red Mass is attended by Catholic and non-Catholic justices as well as members of both Houses of Congress.

A Red Mass of Our Own

Building on our highly successful past Red Masses, the Archdiocese of Vancouver and an association of local Catholic Lawyers are continuing this tradition for the BC legal and judicial communities. All past, present and future members of the legal and judicial community, including lawyers, judges, professors, students and their spouses and family members, are invited to attend this special celebration.

 

Red Mass Steering Committee

Please contact any of the committee members below for more information.

Celso Boscariol cboscariol@wgmlaw.com 604-609-3060
Hector MacKay-Dunn Q.C. hmackay-dunn@farris.com 604-661-9349
Gwendoline Allison gwendoline.allison@foyallison.com 604-922-9282
Robert Piasentin RobertPiasentin@SierraSystems.com 604-891-6233
Sergio Custodio scustodio@fasken.com 604-631-3266
Warren Smith wsmith@thecounselnetwork.com 604-643-1711
Bruno DeVita bdevita@AHBL.CA 604-484-1709
Rosemarie Wertschek, Q.C. rwertschek@shaw.ca 604-266-1575
Brian Duong bduong@litigationchambers.com 604-647-3531
Kristian Arciaga karciaga@fasken.com 604-631-4705
Jacy Wingson jwingson@mcquarrie.com 604-581-7001
Barb Dowding bdowding@rcav.org 604-683-0281

 


Share This Page: