Curriculum Framework: Grade 4

Curriculum Framework
Philosophy and Guidelines
Elementary School Philosophy  High School Philosophy  Sexuality Education Guidelines 
Curriculum Frameworks by grade
Kindergarten  |  Grade 1  |  Grade 2  |  Grade 3  |  Grade 4  |  Grade 5  |  Grade 6  |  Grade 7Grade 8  |  Grade 9  |  Grade 10  |  Grade 11  |  Grade 12 


1. Read, interpret and apply Scripture to life.


2. Demonstrate an understanding of liturgical seasons and feasts.


3. Present a reasoned rationale for being Catholic.


4. Illustrate basic understanding of Catholic dogma and doctrine in light of the Catechism of the Catholic Church.  
– locate specific Scripture passages in the New Testament

– give reflection and a personal response to Scripture stories

– translate the messages from Scripture to specific life situations


– recognize the season of ordinary time as the season to reflect on Jesus' parables and miracles

– identify the names and know the significance of the Marian feasts.

– explain that the Catholic Church gives us guidance in making moral decisions

– show an understanding of Christ as the founder and head of the Church

– recognize that God formed a faith community in the Old Testament and that this new community is the Church in the New Testament

– develop an understanding of the life of Jesus and His message of Love

– demonstrate memorization of the Apostles' Creed


5. Illustrate a basic understanding of the history of the Church and an appreciation of her basic traditions.  6. Demonstrate a knowledge and appreciation of the diverse cultural expressions of Catholicism.  7. Demonstrate an appreciation for the relationship between faith and culture (e.g. through arts, social sciences, sciences, technology, etc.)   8. Pray regularly and use a variety of prayer forms to enrich and express personal and communal spirituality. 
– explore the role of missionaries in establishing the Church in Canada

– relate the mysteries of the Rosary to the life of Christ

– acknowledge and affirm the Catholic faith tradition as expressed in the First Nations community

– celebrate an aspect of First Nations spirituality rooted in Catholic tradition

– critique an example of print media in the light of Catholic values
– identify the four different categories of prayer (praise, thanksgiving, contrition, petition)

– become familiar with the Rosary

– participate in an extended prayerful silence


9. Demonstrate an understanding and appreciation for the importance of Sacraments, with an emphasis on the centrality of the Eucharist, in the life of Catholics.   10. Celebrate the presence of the Sacred through participation in worship experiences using sacramentals, symbols and rituals.  11. Use appropriate resources to plan and participate in liturgy and other prayer experiences.  12. Demonstrate the ability to apply Catholic principles to interpersonal relations (e.g. family, peers, work, society, Church, etc.) 
– identify the Sacraments of Initiation

– recognize the importance of the Sacraments of Initiation

– identify the colours of the liturgical year and their significance

– participate in a Marian celebration

– identify and give examples of the basic elements of a prayer service

– based on Scripture readings, formulate the Prayers of the Faithful for a liturgy

– practice inclusion of peers with Jesus as a role model

– reflect the virtue of chastity in one's speech


13. Demonstrate the ability to make moral decisions consistent with Church teachings.   14. Demonstrate an understanding and respect for the gift of life; demonstrate an understanding of responsible stewardship.   15. Demonstrate an appreciation for faith community by participating in its life and activities activities as an essential way of coming to know God.  16. Express a willingness to develop and use God given gifts and talents in a Christ-like way to build Christian community. 
– use the commandments as a basis for moral decision making

– apply the commandments to concrete examples of moral decision making

– show respect for the disabled

– participate in an activity that protects a part of God's creation


– participate in the celebration of liturgical services by taking an active role

– identify the family, the class, and the school as Christian community

– show respect and appreciation for others' gifts and talents

– identify the qualities and characteristics of a Christian community


17. Critique societal structures in light of Catholic social justice principles and apply to social and personal situations.  18. Engage in service to the community (e.g. family, parish, local, national, and global) in response to the Gospel call.  19. Examine the variety of Christian vocations as ways to live out the Baptismal call to a life of service. 
– identify situations of oppression in our world

– take responsibility for planning and carrying out fund raising activities for the oppressed

– show reverence for God's creation through care of the environment

– identify Jesus as a model of service

– examine the vocation to the religious life

– demonstrate an understanding that happiness is found through living God's call within us


The links above are intended to provide a listing of Catholic sites for the purposes of personal information and resources. It does not imply any endorsement of the content of these sites or their links.  Click here  for more on our Terms of UseIf one of our linked sites has material of a questionable nature, please inform us at 

Share This Page: