Date: Tuesday, May 8, 2018

Mass at 5:00 pm celebrated by Archbishop Miller at Holy Rosary Cathedral, Vancouver

Reception at 6:30 pm, followed by dinner with special guest, Angus Reid, at Hyatt Regency Hotel (655 Burrard St., Vancouver)

About our speaker

Angus Reid

This year, we are pleased to welcome Angus Reid as our keynote speaker. As many of you know, Angus Reid is chairman of the Angus Reid Institute. He is recognized as Canada’s best known and longest-practicing pollster, having spent more than four decades asking Canadians their opinions on top social, governance, and economic issues.

He previously served as CEO of Vision Critical and Angus Reid Strategies, and has been involved in numerous philanthropic activities over the years, perhaps most notably previously serving as chair of the CKNW Orphans Fund and as board member for the Rick Hansen Foundation.

In 2016, he co-authored, along with award winning sociologist Reginald Bibby, Canada’s Catholics – an exploration into the transformation and shift in prominence of the Catholic Church in Canada. His book explored what draws men and women into the life of the Church in modern times. As a lifelong practicing Catholic, Dr. Reid will offer his insights on the shifts in Canadian culture and their impact on both the law and Catholicism in Canada today.

You can read more about our keynote speaker here.

Ticket Prices

  • Single – $130
  • Couple – $250
  • Table of 8 – $1,000
  • Table Sponsorship (includes 8 tickets) – $1,200
    Includes recognition in our print materials and from the podium

What is a Red Mass?

The Red Mass is a Mass celebrated in honour of the legal profession as a vocation in the service of justice and the common good. It is one of the traditions through which the Church has blessed and strengthened the legal profession. The grace given to the members of the legal profession by God and the teachings of the Catholic Church help guide us towards the goals of fairness and justice.

The Red Mass – Past and Present

The first recorded Red Mass was celebrated in Paris in 1245. This Red Mass, so-called for the red vestments traditionally worn by celebrants as a symbol of the tongues of fire that descended on the Apostles during Pentecost, spread throughout Europe and continued around the world. Today Red Masses are held in cities annually, including cities across Canada such as Edmonton, Toronto, Ottawa and Quebec. Red Masses are attended by leading figures across the legal, political and professional fields, and remain an important occasion for Catholic lawyers to connect with their faith community. One of the largest is held in Washington, D.C., at the beginning of the U.S. Supreme Court’s annual term. This Red Mass is attended by Catholic and non-Catholic justices as well as members of both Houses of Congress.

2014-red-massA Red Mass of Our Own

Building on our highly successful past Red Masses, the Archdiocese of Vancouver and an association of local Catholic Lawyers are continuing this tradition for the BC legal and judicial communities. All past, present and future members of the legal and judicial community, including lawyers, judges, professors, students and their spouses and family members, are invited to attend this special celebration.

 

Red Mass Steering Committee

Please contact any of the committee members below for more information.

Celso Boscariol cboscariol@wgmlaw.com 604-609-3060
Hector MacKay-Dunn Q.C. hmackay-dunn@farris.com 604-661-9349
Gwendoline Allison gwendoline.allison@foyallison.com 604-922-9282
Robert Piasentin RobertPiasentin@SierraSystems.com 604-891-6233
Sergio Custodio scustodio@fasken.com 604-631-3266
Warren Smith wsmith@thecounselnetwork.com 604-643-1711
Bruno DeVita bdevita@AHBL.CA 604-484-1709
Rosemarie Wertschek, Q.C. rwertschek@shaw.ca 604-266-1575
Christine Oberti coberti@cwilson.com 604-643-3196
Craig Watson cwatson@stevensvirgin.com 604-694-2837
Jacy Wingson jwingson@mcquarrie.com 604-581-7001
Melissa Mitchell mmitchell@farris.com 604-661-9313
Barb Dowding bdowding@rcav.org 604-683-0281

 


Share This Page: