Date: Thursday, February 16, 2017

Time: 5:00 pm Mass, 6:30 pm Reception

Location: Holy Rosary Cathedral in Vancouver (corner of Richards and Dunsmuir)

Dinner: Reception will be at 6:30 pm followed by Dinner at the The Terminal City Club (837 West Hastings Street, Vancouver)

Online registration is now closed – for more information, please contact Justine Goco at jgoco@rcav.org.

What is a Red Mass?

The Red Mass is a Mass celebrated in honour of the legal profession as a vocation in the service of justice and the common good. It is one of the traditions through which the Church has blessed and strengthened the legal profession. The grace given to the members of the legal profession by God and the teachings of the Catholic Church help guide us towards the goals of fairness and justice.

The Red Mass – Past and Present

The first recorded Red Mass was celebrated in Paris in 1245. This Red Mass, so-called for the red vestments traditionally worn by celebrants as a symbol of the tongues of fire that descended on the Apostles during Pentecost, spread throughout Europe and continued around the world. Today Red Masses are held in cities annually, including cities across Canada such as Edmonton, Toronto, Ottawa and Quebec. Red Masses are attended by leading figures across the legal, political and professional fields, and remain an important occasion for Catholic lawyers to connect with their faith community. One of the largest is held in Washington, D.C., at the beginning of the U.S. Supreme Court’s annual term. This Red Mass is attended by Catholic and non-Catholic justices as well as members of both Houses of Congress.

A Red Mass of Our Own

2014-red-massBuilding on our highly successful past Red Masses, the Archdiocese of Vancouver and an association of local Catholic Lawyers are continuing this tradition for the BC legal and judicial communities. All past, present and future members of the legal and judicial community, including lawyers, judges, professors, students and their spouses and family members, are invited to attend this special celebration.

This Year’s Red Mass

The 2017 Archdiocese of Vancouver Red Mass and Reception on Thursday, February 16, 2017 will feature the Red Mass, celebrated by His Grace, Archbishop Michael Miller, followed by a reception and dinner with our special guest speaker is Archbishop J. Peter Sartain of the Archdiocese of Seattle. Mass is at Holy Rosary Cathedral (646 Richards St, Vancouver) at 5pm. Reception and dinner is at the The Terminal City Club (837 West Hastings Street, Vancouver). Please note the new location!

About our speaker

Archbishop J. Peter Sartain D.D., S.T.L.

On July 15, 1978, he was ordained to the priesthood for the Diocese of Memphis.

Archbishop Sartain attended Memphis State University from 1970-71 before earning his bachelor’s degree in English at St. Meinrad College, Indiana, in 1974. He graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Sacred Theology from the Pontifical University of St. Thomas in Rome in 1977 and earned a licentiate of Sacred Theology with specialization in Sacramental Theology from the Pontifical Athenaeum San Anselmo in Rome in 1979.

He was a pastor of Churches in the Diocese of Memphis from the 70s through the 2000s. From 1981 to 2000, he held numerous positions in the Diocese of Memphis including director of vocations, chancellor, moderator of the curia, vicar for clergy and vicar general.

Pope John Paul II appointed Archbishop Sartain Bishop of Little Rock, Arkansas, on January 4, 2000. He was ordained on March 6, 2000, and took as his episcopal motto: “Of You My Heart Has Spoken” (Psalm 27:8). He was appointed Bishop of Joliet, Illinois, by Pope Benedict XVI on May 16, 2006, and was installed on June 27. On September 16, 2010, he was appointed Archbishop of Seattle and was installed on December 1, 2010.

Archbishop Sartain serves on a number of Catholic boards and has served as Secretary of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops. He is the author of several books, including Of You My Heart Has Spoken (Arkansas Catholic, 2005); Strengthen Your Brothers: An Archbishop’s Letters of Encouragement to His Priests (Liturgical Press, 2012), and The Journey to the Heart of Jesus (Our Sunday Visitor, 2014).

 

Tickets

Tickets for the dinner and reception are $130, two for $250, or tables of eight for $1,000.

Please contact any of the committee members below for more information.

 

Red Mass Steering Committee

Celso Boscariol cboscariol@wgmlaw.com
604.609.3060
Hector MacKay-Dunn Q.C. hmackay-dunn@farris.com
604.661.9349
Gwendoline Allison gwendoline.allison@foyallison.com
604.922.9282
Robert Piasentin RobertPiasentin@SierraSystems.com
604.891.6233
Sergio Custodio scustodio@fasken.com
604.631.3266
Warren Smith wsmith@thecounselnetwork.com
604.643.1711
Bruno DeVita bdevita@AHBL.CA
604.484.1709
Rosemarie Wertschek, Q.C. rwertschek@shaw.ca
604-266-1575
Christine Oberti  christine.oberti@teekay.com 604.844.6621 Craig Watson cwatson@stevensvirgin.com
604.694.2837
Jacy Wingson jwingson@mcquarrie.com
604.581.7001
Melissa Mitchell mmitchell@farris.com
604.661.9313
Barb Dowding bdowding@rcav.org
604-683-0281

 


Share This Page: